HIGH OCTANE, FREE-RANGE (HOFR) COFFEE™, NEIL-STYLE

The genesis of this beverage was a need of getting Paleo nutrition into a high octane, pre-dawn, pre-workout meal without a lot of prep time or clean up afterward. Let’s face it: Who has time to constantly make a proper big brekkie first thing in morning or a high powered snack pre-workout?

One of my answers came in this weeks blog post from Mark’s Daily Apple for Primal Egg Coffee and with very minor tinkering, mine is pretty much the same thing. By the way, I love this guy; you should too.

On a related note, I’ve been following and researching the Bulletproof Coffee craze (ya gotta watch this spoof video… it cracks me up every time). Though I agree with it in concept, I don’t really enjoy the “oil slick” I feel in my throat after drinking one. I’ll keep persisting and see if the results convince me to continue. Until that time, I’ll keep up my version, especially since it’s got the addition of a healthy protein kick… and one magical ingredient. I might even add a bit of coconut oil, grass-fed butter, and/or MCT’s to see if I can get closer to the Bulletproof formula. I’ll tell you what I find and I encourage you to do the same and check back with us with your additions, deletions, discoveries.

Anyway, I think this drink is pretty freaking special. It’s made with simple ingredients, only needs a fork and a Pyrex measuring cup for cooking utensils, and is especially yum with my addition of…wait for it…BACON!!!!

INGREDIENTS

2 shots Espresso or 1-1.5 C Brewed Coffee
2-3 Free Range Eggs
1 Tbs Maple syrup (NOT maple ‘flavored’…that stuff is crap)
1/2 tsp Vanilla
Dash of Cinnamon
Pinch of salt (Himalayan pink, if you have)
1 Crispy bacon rasher (or freeze-dried bacon powder – oohlalah!)

PREPARATION

CRACK the eggs into a largish container like a Pyrex measuring cup.

ADD the maple syrup, vanilla, cinnamon and salt.

WHISK ingredients with a fork or hand blender. You can use a larger blender or shaker bottle too.

DRIZZLE the just brewed coffee into your egg mixture slowly (so as not to ‘cook’ the egg), whisking or blending it as it’s added.

POUR the frothy nectar into a coffee mug and garnish with the bacon. Or go Old School and suck the drink down from the measuring cup, skarf the bacon and hit the weights!

Note: My client Nina claims her Sicilian Nona would mix raw eggs in her coffee for breakfast. So this isn’t a bogus idea!

20130725-202014.jpg

Leave a Reply

