PALEO SHORT RIBS

Sorry for the radio silence people! My workload, family and CrossFit keeps things busy. However, I’m not an excuse maker. So here I am. Neil and Suz are busy too. Still. Not making excuses. Just sayin’.

Today is my day off (from everything) and I’ve been Spring cleaning- which means I flipped the switch for the self-cleaner on the oven and went to get a pedi. Afterward, my mind turned to food. After all, I’m eating every 3 hours lately (more about that another time). I need some comfort food for dinner. And I’ve recently read an article by Mark Sisson about cooking bones. Hmm.

SHORT RIBS!!!! Time to replace the smell of old creepy burned bits from the oven to a fabulous roast meat smell.

This recipe is quick. Really quick and then things sloooow down. Turns out you have 3-4 hours to get a pedi (like me), go to a CrossFit class, drink wine, play in the park, walk the dog, whatever. The payoff is the wicked tender meat. And that’s what we’re here for. Not gonna lie. I’ve added more pictures than before. Love me a “progressive” set of pictures.

PALEO SHORT RIBS

Ingredients:

6-8 short ribs

Salt and pepper (generous portion of each)

3 Tbsp. coconut oil

1 sprig fresh rosemary

2 bay leaves

1/2 Cup salt free tomato sauce

2 Cups water, beef stock, red wine, apple cider vinegar

Directions:

Heat oven to 350 F/ 175 C.

Place a large oven-proof pot over high heat.

Add oil to the pan and then the short ribs.

Season with salt and pepper.

Brown ribs on both sides (takes 2-3 minutes per side).

L1060961

Add remaining ingredients to pot, cover with a lid and place into the oven.

L1060962

Run away for 3-4 hours!! Yay, free time.. Go live life.

The meat should be falling off the bone when the time’s up.

Spoon the sauce from the pan over the ribs and serve with veg of your choice.

Craving satisfied. Yowza!

L1060964

Leave a Reply

