PALEO-STYLE CHICKEN DIJON™

I know at least 101 ways to cook chicken. Honest. I’m never bored by it and find it extremely versatile.

I was looking for a way to make a chook dish using leftover white wine and some herbs from my garden. This dish was the result. It wasn’t until after I stopped congratulating myself that I discovered its pretty much a ripoff… I mean a SIMILAR dish to a standard French meal from Burgundy…dang.

But I DID have two innovations that keep it in the Paleo realm: Ghee and Coconut cream. I don’t mind using butter or ghee in food but I try not to use much dairy cream in the 3TWO1 recipes, since alot of you are on dairy-free diets. Instead, I used coconut milk and believe it or not, there’s no coconut flavor in it at all. Rob’s pretty picky and doesn’t always want that sweet nutty flavor and he just gave it 2-thumbs up (his mouth was full of creamy chook when he gave the rating).

I’m not sure wine is strictly Paleo, but I cooked the bejeezus out of it so I think it meets requirements.

…plus it really does taste so so good.

INGREDIENTS
2 chicken breasts and 6 drumsticks
or 1 whole chicken, cut with skin on
I bunch fresh thyme, tied
1/2 bottle good white wine
3 heaping Tbs Dijon Mustard (find an organic version)
2 Tbs Ghee
1/2+ can (135 ml) Coconut cream
3 large stalks celery, diced. Save leaves
1 large carrot, diced
4 C whole brown mushrooms, cut in half
1 large onion, diced
2-4 C Water
Salt and Pepper to taste

PREPARATION
PREHEAT oven to 180 C.
HEAT ghee or oil in a deep lidded baking pot on top of stove.
ADD chicken to pot and brown pieces to seal.
REMOVE chook from pot and place aside for a bit.
ADD chopped celery stalk, onion and carrot. Cook in oil for 5-10 minutes.
RE-ADD chook and any juices that have come out of the meat to pot.
ADD wine and enough water to just cover contents.
MIX in mustard and coconut cream.
ADD thyme and mushrooms, bring contents to simmer, place lid on tightly and cook for 15 minutes.
REMOVE pot lid and place pot in oven on middle shelf for 1 hour. The liquid should reduce to a nice, medium thick sauce; if too watery, cook a bit longer to reduce.

SERVE with a fresh green salad.

20130305-203620.jpg

Leave a Reply

