CHUNKY SOUTHWEST CHILI VERDE™ (Down Undah Style)

20130215-192040.jpgThis is a redux of my previous CHILI VERDE™…this one uses chunks of pork rather than mince and grapeseed oil rather than coconut. I think they are both pretty tasty.

I miss my Southwest USA roots and nothing makes me more homesick than good Mexican food…unless its chatting with my sister Linda.

But finding authentic, reasonably priced Mexican food here in Australia is like looking for something really cool for men at Lululemon! That’s not totally fair; if you live in Perth Western Australia check out The Flying Taco…gawd damn it’s good and the real deal. If you go, say hi to Anna from Neil the Pilates Guy. But I’ve been coast to coast and I can say with assurance I’ve disappointed way more times than I’ve been happy with the offerings.

I came to the conclusion loooong ago that if I couldn’t find it, then I had to make it…so I did and I do.

Mexican food is actually very healthy, though not all of it falls in the Paleo/Primal paradigm of no grains, dairy or legumes. Still, its not difficult to substitute most things (I’ll show you how over time) and if you get the spices right, it all seems to turn out fine.

One of the big hits at my house is my take on the New Mexico dish, Chili Verde. I do a few versions but this is my current favorite. It’s got a lovely velvety sauce with a hint of green (the ‘verde’) wrapped around juicy chunks of pork. The spiciness is not a problem; you control that the same way we Aussies do our Asian foods: Don’t add too much chili!!

The original recipe is from a fab cookbook I’ve owned for over 24 years, “Southwest, The Beautiful Cookbook”. I find it hard to get the Anaheim chilies required but I’ve noted my substitution clearly in the recipe.

You can eat this by the bowl or wrapped up in a gluten-free tortilla as a burrito filling, or use as a sauce for enchiladas.

Delicioso! (Did I say that right in Spanish, Linda…?)

INGREDIENTS
3 Tbs Grapeseed oil
2 onions, diced roughly
1-1.5 Kg Pork, lean and cubed (I’ve used roast and cut the skin off)
4-5 Tbs Arrowroot flour
1 tsp Cumin, ground
2-3 Garlic cloves, minced
3 Green Peppers or Cspaicums + 2 Jalapenos (Or use 10 Anaheim chilies, roasted, peeled) cored, seeded and diced
3 C Chicken stock or water, low boil
Salt and pepper to taste

PREPARATION
In a large heavy pot, heat the oil (or bacon fat…yum) over a med-low heat.
Sauté the onions for around 5 minutes until soft.
Add the cubed pork and cook until meat loses its pink color (another 5 minutes). Keep stirring so you don’t burn the meat or onions.
Sprinkle the arrowroot flour over the mixture, raise the heat a bit and cook until meat is browned or at least cooked through.
Add the cumin, garlic and chili mix, combining the whole lot.
Sloooowly add the boiling stock/water and stir until thoroughly combined. You should notice the liquid beginning to thicken.
Add salt and pepper.
Lower heat to simmer uncovered for 1.5-2 hours.

Serves 6

Leave a Reply

