BACON PUMPKIN PATTIES

20130224-195153.jpg
I’m getting ready to fly out to Denver to see my sister Linda (co-blogger here). As I was organising myself I remembered this recipe that I hadn’t posted yet. Since I was going to be unavailable for a few days, I thought I’d post it now.

We had a bunch of pumpkins and I didn’t feel like making yet another batch of pumpkin soup. Nice as it is, I just wasn’t in the mood.

HOWEVER…I found this great way of using pumpkin in patties with … wait for it… BACON!

Don’t worry about using the cinnamon in a savoury recipe. It lends a lovely sweet undertone and helps balance the saltiness of the bacon. I reckon they’d be equally great with poached eggs for breakfast or ribs for dinner. We opted for a nice salad this time.

Adapted from blog, Cutting Out Carbs.

INGREDIENTS
1 medium Pumpkin, cut in quarters, seeds removed but skin on.
6+ strips of Bacon, cooked and diced
2 Eggs
3 Tbs Coconut flour
1 tsp Cinnamon
Salt and pepper

PREPARATION

PREHEAT oven to 200 C.

BRUSH pumpkin pieces with olive oil and place on a lined baking tray. Add about 1/2 inch of water to pan.

LAY the bacon on a grill placed over a second pan.

PLACE the bacon and the pumpkin in the oven and bake for 30+ minutes. If you save the bacon fat after cooking, you can use it to fry the patties. I like the full-use idea.

ONCE your squash is soft and cooked, remove both pans from the oven and let them cool for about 10 minutes.

SCRAPE out the insides of the squash into a bowl and mash with a fork or potato masher.

DICE the cooked bacon and add it to your mashed up pumpkin, along with the eggs, coconut flour, salt and pepper and cinnamon.

HEAT a pan on high temperature and melt some of the bacon grease or add cooking oil (coconut, etc).

SCOOP a heaping soup-spoon-sized glob of the patty mix and place it in the pan.

COOK each side of the patty about 3-5 minutes.

Leave a Reply

