PALEO LEFTOVERS

With Thanksgiving on the horizon, leftovers are on my mind too. We all have them in the refrigerator right now. You do. Go look. What are we gonna do with all those little bits of food from the past? Are we gonna order out? Nah, most of it is crap and costs too much. I know, let’s try and create some “new food”! Excited?! No? I wasn’t either when I realized it was just me for dinner one night last week and I was coming back from the gym late. Reluctantly, I snapped into action. Just because I cook for a living doesn’t mean I always have foie gras and other fancy things laying around. You can do this with any meat, any vegetables. Try it. And yes, that’s a rosemary sprig. So what? I garnish. So here’s what I did:

LAMB MEATBALLS IN TOMATO SAUCE OVER CAULIFLOWER PUREE AND BRUSSELS SPROUTS

Steamed Cauliflower: Got a blender out and put in cauliflower, salt, pepper, big dash of  cayenne pepper and a splash of almond milk. Whizzed it until smooth. The consistency is soft mashed potatoes.

1/2 C. cooked brussels sprouts: Heat 2 minutes in the microwave.

1 Cup Tomato sauce: Leave as is. Got plans for this! Read on.

1 lb. ground lamb: Mix lamb, salt, pepper, 2 Tbsp. almond flour, a few leaves of mint, a few rosemary leaves,pinch of dried basil and 1 egg.  Shape into balls. I made 6 big ones.

Heat a pan over medium high heat and brown the meatballs. Add the tomato sauce, cover and reduce the heat to low. Cook for 10 minutes.

Assemble your plate: Big dollop of cauliflower puree, top with saucy meatballs and add the brussels sprouts.

Aaaand we’re done. On the couch, plate on the lap, in front of the TV.

One Comment Add yours

  1. suzballs says:

    Suz: Wow simply as that!!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

